What can we help you find?

Leading the way in transplantation

Filter results for:


As part of its commitment to advancing education and research in transplantation and to reward excellence, ESOT offers an Awards Programme. A variety of awards are available at the biennial ESOT Congress, at ESOT courses, and at meetings organised by the ESOT Sections and Committees.

All award recipients are required to be ESOT members in good standing with up-to-date fee payments.


To recognise incredible work, research and collaboration in our dynamic field, a number of awards and bursaries are available before and during the ESOT Congress.

ESOT Leonardo Da Vinci Transplant Research Innovation Award

Eight (four for clinical and four for basic science) outstanding contributions from all submitted abstracts are shortlisted by the Scientific Programme Committee, based on the overall referees’ scores as well as additional reviews provided by independent Panel of Reviewers.

During one of the plenary sessions, the audience, together with a jury of top experts in transplantation, will select two winners – one for clinical and one for basic science research. Both winners will be awarded €10,000 and their contributions will be celebrated during the closing plenary of the congress. They will also receive an invitation to submit their work to Transplant International. Only original abstracts are eligible for this award.

The award is kindly supported by CareDx in 2023

ESOT Congress 2023 Awardees:

Anna Christina Dragon


Elisabet Van Loon



ESOT Congress 2021 Awardees:

Nicola De Stefano

Extracellular vesicles from human liver stem cells reduce injury in a model of normothermic perfusion of rat ischemic livers

Marc Raynaud

Dynamic prediction of kidney-graft survival with artificial intelligence: an international study of deep cohorts of kidney recipients

Read more

Stronger Together PRO Award

This award is presented to the group of abstract submitted by a single organisation with the best average score. The winning institution will receive a 5,000 EUR prize.

The award is kindly supported by Immucor in 2023.

ESOT Congress 2023 Awardees

Winner: PITOR 

Runner up: Cambridge


ESOT Congress 2021 Awardee:

Paris Translational Research Centre for Organ Transplantation

Read more

ESOT-SITO Award 2021

The best three abstracts submitted by young professionals (under 35 years old) from an Italian institution will be granted free registration to the congress.
Submitters must be an active member of SITO (with a good standing of membership upon the abstract submission deadline) to be eligible.

ESOT Congress 2021 Awardees:

Elisabetta Bussalino 
Sara Maritato
Jacopo Lanari

Read more

Best Cardiothoracic Abstract Award

This award is presented to the best abstract submitted on heart and/or lung topics.

All abstracts qualify for the award!

The winner will receive €2,000.

ESOT Congress 2023 Awardee:

Lisa Coscia

Digital Transformation in Transplantation Best Abstract Award

This award is presented to the best abstract covering topics of digital transformation in transplantation. These include: artificial intelligence, big data, e-health and m-health platforms, telemedicine, digitalisation, and more.

The winner will receive €3,000.

ESOT Congress 2023 Awardee:

Valentin Goutaudier 

Young Greek Investigator Best Abstract Award

This award is presented to the best abstract submitted by a Greek national young professional aged 35 years old or younger at the time of the congress (date of birth on or after 20 September 1988).

The author should be of Greek nationality, however can be working in an institution outside of Greece. The winner will receive €1,000.

ESOT Congress 2023 Awardee:

Georgios Eleftheriadis

ESOT-IPTA Joint Paediatric Award

Candidates must submit an abstract on paediatric transplantation for ESOT Congress and declare that the abstract being submitted is for the award. Abstracts can be either on clinical innovation or the advancement of scientific research and must be of original work and outstanding quality.

The award will be presented to the abstract with the highest marked cumulative score from all reviewers. The receiver of the award must be the main presenter and attend the ESOT Congress that year.

There are no age restrictions to apply and the candidate will receive a certificate of achievement along with a prize of €500.

The successful candidate will also be invited to submit his/her work at Transplant International, as per the journal guidelines.

A similar joint IPTA/ESOT award will be awarded at the IPTA Congress that takes place every two years.

ESOT Congress 2023 Awardee:

Jon Jin Kim

ESOT Congress 2021 Awardee:

Reshma Rana Magar

ESOT Full Bursary

Twenty grants will be given to young clinicians or scientists (under 35 years old), who have submitted the best twenty abstracts to the congress.

Recipients will receive free registration to the congress, a 500 EUR travel grant and an ESOT membership.

Read more

ESOT Registration Bursary

In addition to the ESOT Full Bursary, another twenty grants will be given to young clinicians or scientists (under 35 years old), who have submitted the next best twenty abstracts to the congress.

Recipients will receive free registration to the congress, as well as an ESOT membership.

Read more

ECP* Immunomodulation Award in Solid Organ Transplantation

ECP* Immunomodulation Award in Solid Organ Transplantation – supported by Mallinckrodt
ESOT is thrilled to announce a new and prestigious research award: the ECP* Immunomodulation Award in Organ Transplantation.

2023 Awardee: Jordi Rovira

2021 Awardee: Johanne Hjort Baatrup


*Extracorporeal Photopheresis


The ESOT Legacy Award

The ESOT Legacy Award is the highest accolade of our society and celebrates individuals and organisations for their truly outstanding and sustainable achievements in the field of organ, tissue and cell donation and transplantation. This esteemed award recognises long-term contributions across various domains, including research, clinical advancements, training, education and organisation and governance.

The award winners are chosen following a rigorous process involving members of the ESOT Council, the ESOT Executive and multiple representatives of patient associations. Award recipients must demonstrate well-known and respected ethos and conduct, aligning closely with ESOT’s mission and values.

The ESOT Legacy Award winners 2023


The Paolo Muiesan Award

The Paolo Muiesan Award for the Best Case Study Presentation is granted during the HESPERIS Course.


HESPERIS Course 2024
Sadia Tasleem

HESPERIS Course 2023
Emil Bluhme

HESPERIS Course 2022
Michaela Orlitova

We are here to help

Should you need any additional information, you can contact

Laura Contessi
Education Manager
Read Profile